List of Tarot Cards and Their Meanings

The tarot is a deck of 78 cards, divided into the Major Arcana (22 cards) and Minor Arcana (56 cards).

Major Arcana Cards List

  1. The Fool
  2. The Magician
  3. The High Priestess
  4. The Empress
  5. The Emperor
  6. The Hierophant
  7. The Lovers
  8. The Chariot
  9. Strength
  10. The Hermit
  11. The Wheel of Fortune
  12. Justice
  13. The Hanged Man
  14. Death
  15. Temperance
  16. The Devil
  17. The Tower
  18. The Star
  19. The Moon
  20. The Sun
  21. Judgement
  22. The World

Minor Arcana Cards

These tarot cards are divided into four suits: Cups, Wands, Swords, and Pentacles. Each suit has 14 cards: Ace through 10, and four court cards (Page, Knight, Queen, and King).

The Cups suit represents emotions, feelings and relationships. The Wands suit represents action, inspiration, and creativity. The Swords suit represents the mind and intellect. The Pentacles suit represents material wealth and stability.

In some tarot decks, the minor arcana is further divided into pips and face cards. pip cards are numbered 2-10 while face cards are page, knight, queen and king.